Art et réalité virtuelle

Home

WHAT IS VRLAB ?

VRLAB is an artistic initiative consisting of the establishment of a laboratory whose objectives are:

– Technological watch on the fields of virtual reality and alternate realities.

– Make the connection between art and these areas.

– Establishment of events (conferences, demonstrations, exhibitions …) involved in creating a dynamic reflection and production.

– Creation and production of  projects, group exhibition initiative, performance, installation.

– Partnerships with scientific laboratories, universities, production structures, arts centers and exhibition spaces, private companies.

THE ORIGIN ? 

David Guez is the origin of this project, with the aim to bring an open team whose members are from different fields (editors, coders, designers, 3D, electronic engineers, researchers, producers, broadcasters, artists).

WHY ?

THE VIRTUAL WORLD

A virtual world can be defined today by a digital creation, often a 3D world, offering limited interactivity with a keyboard, a joystick and screen. The virtual world is thus always included in the real world as part of the actual landscape, a greater or less window but remains in the temporal and spatial geometry of the real world.

In 2014, the involvement of big business and web 2 video game for the creation of devices that fully immerse the look in virtual worlds is impressive: Acquisition of the Oculus Rift by Facebook with the launch of a VR helmet beginning 2015 launch of the VR helmet Sony PS4 to the end of 2015, launch of the VR helmet Samsung in September 2014 adapted his mobile phone note 4 Google, Microsoft & Google, are creating their own helmet adapted to mobile phones …

These commitments by the industrial world may change significantly access to these virtual worlds by changing the entire ecosystem (since the design of the universe to their distribution). It seems obvious that will be taken into account the following concepts:

– Ability to create worlds accessible by tens of thousands of people.

– Creation of tangible interfaces that will complete the illusion of eyes (gloves, shoes, carpets, heat sensors, clammy, heart rate …)

– Maturity in the short term quality of these helmets and their extensions (4K HD screens, fast processor, multiple sensors, latency destroyed).

– Tools cheap, public and open source, to unite communities.

CHANGE OF PERSPECTIVE

These new interfaces offer increased vision match, from an aesthetic point of view, a true paradigm shift in the concept of perspective.

Testing the Google Glass and headset Oculus Rift virtual reality, the first idea that came to mind was that this table Giorgio Martini (the ideal city to Urbino – 1470) which marks the discovery of the perspective in painting. I really think that we are technologically ready to completely change our time “look” on the concept of perspective. The question could almost be summarized as: What happens if our vision is found in situations where reality is perfectly copied, where the interfaces and sensors make us feel the same sensations as in reality, our brain is completely lured by these images? We could almost speak of a 4D perspective or that extra dimension that would eventually be the complete immersion in 3D (to follow our example in Table Giorgio, we could say for example that we would then be “in the table” before the ideal city to Urbino). Obviously, it is not about to make a stupid copy and paste between classic theoretical perspective and 3D perspective but increased the field of art has always wondered about the image and our relationship to the image, crossing aesthetic and sensitive body between the abstract virtual / real body and contemporary /. These questions virtual body interfaces recordings and the notion of interactivity man / machine are obviously not new in the field of art but I think that fundamentally changes today is the possible combination between a mature technological power and a mass phenomenon and the general public in the forthcoming democratization VR helmets. To summarize, we could say that the VR helmet will become the next great public interface that will connect the different worlds that we know and therefore offer a real “new worldview.”
Città_ideale_di_berlino_2

 

Actualités

AVRIL/MAI/JUNE 2016
levitation
LEVITATION SERA PRESENT AUX EVENEMENTS SUIVANTS :

– LAVAL VIRTUAL
– MAC CRETEIL
– MAISON DES ARTS ENGHIENS-LES-BAINS


RENCONTRE VRLAB DU 4 MAI 2015 

18H-20H30

Programme complet ici

Inscription obligatoire ici 

 

brainstorm-invitation

 

 


 

Projects – Art

 

Resources


vrlab-hub-vignette1200

Galerie Photos

WebTV

Team

 

Events

 

NEXT EVENT

APRIL/MAY/JUNE 2016
levitation
LEVITATION WILL BE PRESENT AT THESE EVENTS :

– LAVAL VIRTUAL
– MAC CRETEIL
– MAISON DES ARTS ENGHIENS-LES-BAINS


VRLAB BRAINSTORM

2015 MAY 4  / 6PM-8.30PM

Full program here

Inscription here

teaser


 

EVENT 2015 MARCH 2015

virtual_reality_alterity_600x800px

Program

Inscription (max  to 80 people)

 


Event of the 28 NOV 2014  IN  La Gaité Lyrique

Inscribe here to receive infos about our next event.

 

 

Photos Gallery

 

Partners

horspistes
gaite lyrique

decalab
institut de la vision
poptronics
nimal_logo
galerie up
lefresnoy
hebdomedia
merge
bruyant
ENsad

homido
cranelab

novelab

Contact

Your Name : *
Your Email : *
Subject : *
Message : *
captcha : *

Inscription Newsletter

 
* = required field

powered by MailChimp!

Presse

 

Demos

Art et réalité virtuelle

Accueil

Qu’est-ce que VRLAB ?

VRLAB est une initiative artistique consistant en la mise en place d’un laboratoire  dont les objectifs sont les suivants :

– Veille sur les  domaines de la réalité virtuelle et des réalités alternatives.

– Faire le lien entre l’art et ces domaines.

– Mise en place d’événements (conférences, démonstrations, expositions…) qui participent à créer une dynamique de réflexion et de production.

– Création et productions de projets, appel à projets, initiative d’expo collective, performance, installation.

– Partenariats avec des  laboratoires scientifiques, universitaires, structures de productions, centres d’arts et espaces d’expositions, entreprises privés des domaines concernés.

 

L’origine

David Guez est à l’origine de ce projet, avec l’objectif de réunir une équipe ouverte dont les membres sont issus de différents domaines (rédacteurs, codeurs, designers 3D, électroniciens, chercheurs, producteurs, diffuseurs, artistes).

 

Les raisons 

LES UNIVERS VIRTUELS

Un univers virtuel peut se définir aujourd’hui par une création numérique, souvent un monde en 3D, offrant une interactivité limitée aux touches d’un clavier, une manette de jeu et un écran, tactile ou pas. Le monde virtuel est ainsi toujours inclus dans le monde réel comme un élément du paysage réel, une fenêtre plus ou moins grande mais qui reste dans la géométrie spatio temporelle du monde réel.

En 2014, l’engagement des grosses entreprises du web 2 et du jeu vidéo pour la création de dispositifs qui immergent complètement le regard dans les univers virtuels est impressionnant : Rachat de l’Oculus Rift par Facebook avec le lancement d’un casque VR début 2015, lancement du casque VR de Sony pour la PS4 fin 2015, lancement du casque de VR de Samsung en sept 2014 adapté à son téléphone portable Google note 4, Microsoft & Google, en cours de création de leur propre casque adapté aux téléphones mobiles…

Ces engagements du monde industriel risquent de changer fortement l’accès à ces univers virtuels en modifiant tout l’écosystème (depuis la conception de ces univers jusqu’à leur distribution). Il semble évident que seront pris en compte les notions suivantes :

– Possibilité de créer des univers accessibles par plusieurs dizaines de milliers de personnes.

– Création d’interfaces corporelles qui vont parfaire l’illusion du regard (gants, chaussures, tapis, capteurs de chaleur, de moiteur, du rythme cardiaque…)

– Maturité à cours terme de la qualité de ces casques et de leurs extensions (écrans HD 4K, processeur rapide, capteurs multiples, temps de latence réduit à néant).

– Outils peu cher, grand public et en open source, permettant de fédérer des communautés.

CHANGEMENT DE PERSPECTIVE

Ces nouvelles interfaces qui proposent la vision augmenté correspondent, d’un point de vue esthétique, à un véritable changement de paradigme quant à la notion de perspective.

En testant les  Google Glass et le casque de réalité virtuel Oculus Rift,  la première idée qui m’est venue à l’esprit à été celle à ce tableau de Giorgio Martini (la cité idéale à Urbino – 1470) qui marque la découverte de la perspective en peinture. Je pense réellement que nous sommes à une époque technologiquement prête pour modifier complètement notre « regard » sur la notion de perspective. La question pourrait presque se résumer ainsi : Que se passe t-il si notre vision se retrouve dans des contextes où la réalité est parfaitement copié, où des interfaces et capteurs nous font ressentir les mêmes sensations que dans le réel, que notre cerveau soit complètement leurré par ces images ? Nous pourrions presque parler d’une perspective 4D ou cette dimension supplémentaire serait éventuellement celle de l’immersion complète dans la 3D ( pour suivre notre exemple du tableau de Giorgio, nous pourrions dire par exemple que nous serions alors « dans le tableau », devant la cité idéale à Urbino). Évidemment, il ne s’agit pas ici de faire un bête copier-coller théorique entre perspective classique 3D et perspective augmentée mais le champ de l’art s’est toujours interrogé sur l’image et notre rapport à l’image, aux passages esthétiques et sensibles entre Le corps virtuel/abstrait et Le corps réel/contemporain. Ces questions de corps virtuel, d’interfaces de captations et la notion d’interactivité homme/machine ne sont évidemment pas nouvelles dans le champ de l’art mais je pense que ce qui change fondamentalement aujourd’hui, c’est la conjonction possible entre une puissance technologique arrivée à maturité et un phénomène de masse et grand public en la démocratisation imminente des casques VR. Pour résumer, nous pourrions dire que la casque VR va devenir la prochaine interface grand public qui va relier les différents mondes que nous connaissons et donc offrir un réelle « nouvelle vision du monde ».

Città_ideale_di_berlino_2

 

 

Actualités

AVRIL/MAI/JUNE 2016
levitation
LEVITATION SERA PRESENT AUX EVENEMENTS SUIVANTS :

– LAVAL VIRTUAL
– MAC CRETEIL
– MAISON DES ARTS ENGHIENS-LES-BAINS


RENCONTRE VRLAB DU 4 MAI 2015 

18H-20H30

Programme complet ici

Inscription obligatoire ici 

 

brainstorm-invitation

 

 


 

Projets – Art

 

Ressources


vrlab-hub-vignette1200

WebTV

Galerie Photos

Événement

 

AVRIL/MAI/JUIN 2016
levitation
LEVITATION SERA PRESENT AUX EVENEMENTS SUIVANTS :

– LAVAL VIRTUAL
– MAC+ CRETEIL FESTIVAL EXIT
– MAISON DES ARTS ENGHIENS-LES-BAINS


RENCONTRE VRLAB DU 4 MAI 2015 

18H-20H30

Programme complet ici

Inscription obligatoire ici 

 

teaser

 


 

RENCONTRE VRLAB DU 25 MARS 2015

realite_virtuelle_alterite_2500x3334px

Le programme complet de la soirée


 

Rencontre VRLAB du 28 NOV 2014 à la Gaité Lyrique 

invitation1200

Invités :

Nicolas Barrial – Journaliste / Ariel Kyrou –  écrivain / Clara-Doïna Schmelck  – journaliste – philosophe /Annick rivoire – Journaliste /Jérémie bordas – Chercheur/ Balthazar Auxietre – Artiste / Yann deval, collectif Immersio – Artistes

Revoir l’émission :

Galerie Photos

Partenaires

horspistes
gaite lyrique
decalab
institut de la vision
poptronics
nimal_logo
lefresnoy

galerie up
merge
hebdomedia
bruyant
ENsad
homido
cranelab
novelab

Equipe

Contact

Your Name : *
Your Email : *
Subject : *
Message : *
captcha : *

Inscription Newsletter

 
* = Champ requis

Propulsé par MailChimp!

Presse

 

Demos